Where We Are

updated 2021

Our Region is part of Cascadia, a mega-region that spans from British Columbia to Oregon, and encompasses three percent of the United States’ gross domestic product and three percent of its population. Cascadia could be defined as an “ecopolis,” known for both natural abundance and business innovation. Much like the rest of Cascadia, our Region embraces self-reliance, transformation, and diversity.

As of 2020, there were over eight million people living within it and connected to a global trade and resource network.

Map of the Region

Population Distribution

Our Region’s 270,000 residents are concentrated in small and mid-sized towns and cities, while a large and sparsely populated rural expanse of forest and farmland characterizes the non-urban landscape. According to 2011 data from the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the National Resource Conservation Service, Benton County is 45 percent forest land, Lincoln County is 62 percent forest land, and Linn County is 52 percent forest land.

Population distribution across the region.

Land Ownership

Land in the Region is owned by diverse private and public entities, with a broad expanse of Federal and State-owned forest. 172,000 acres of the 630,000-acre Siuslaw National Forest are in Lincoln County. The other major forest in the Region is the Willamette National Forest, which spans just over 464,000 acres in Linn County and 1,691,000 total acres. Other large areas of land are attributed to the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians, Oregon Department of Forestry, Oregon State University, and others.

Land ownership across the region.

Map Acronyms

USACE: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

USBLM: United States Bureau of Land Management

USDOD: United States Department of Defense

ODF: Oregon Department of Forestry

OPRD: Oregon Parks and Recreation Department

USFS: United States Forest Service

USFWS: United States Fish and Wildlife Service