Peer Regions

Characteristics of the Region's Population

How We Compare

Throughout this website, we’ll explore how we compare to peer regions from outside the State of Oregon. OCWCOG’s three peer regions are Southeast Idaho, Brazos Valley Texas, and Northeast Arizona.

These peer regions were chosen based on:

  • Their comparable populations;
  • The presence of a Council of Governments with somewhat similar services to OCWCOG; and
  • The presence of a university comparable to Oregon State University in enrollment, in relation to the region’s population.

Southeast Idaho: The Southeast Idaho region is served by the Southeast Idaho Council of Governments (SICOG). The region encompasses seven counties and is home to 166,000 residents. Idaho State University calls Southeast Idaho home.

Brazos Valley: The Brazos Valley area encompasses seven counties and is home to 335,000 people. Texas A&M University is located in the region. It is served by the Brazos Valley Council of Governments (BVCOG).

Northern Arizona: The Northern Arizona region encompasses four counties and is home to 536,000 people. It is served by the Northern Arizona Council of Governments (NACOG). Northern Arizona University is located in this region.